The majority of the convicts cartes in the Mirror with a Memory exhibition, however, were borrowed NOT from the NLA in 2000 but from the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, where the A. Boyd attribution was derived from confusion generated by researcher Chris Long in the 1980s. It was taken from the National Library Collection and correctly attributed to T. Nevin together with the rest of the NLA’s 83 “Port Arthur convict portraits 1874”.Whether you're looking for a friend, a date, or a lover, this is the place for you! We offer an abundant selection of features in a fun environment designed to allow you to meet other quality people.Clabby was transferred back to the House of Correction Hobart (i.e. The Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery constructed four wooden-framed collages under glass from their collection of Thomas Nevin’s prisoner mugshots for an exhibition titled Mirror with a Memory at the National Portrait Gallery, Canberra, in 2000. I Boyd, one year after the QVMAG had exhibited a large selection of their collection of 1870s mugshots with the correct attribution to T.
Moreover, he did not recognise Thomas Nevin’s stamp with the Royal Arms insignia as the standard issue insignia to all government contractors when commenting on Nevin’s photographs of prisoners in the TMAG publication of 1995. Boyd was not a photographer, and certainly not THE photographer of Tasmanian prisoners at Port Arthur in 1874, but between 19, a year after Chris Long completed his “research”, the Boyd misattribution was fabricated at the Port Arthur Heritage Site and the TMAG (see Elspeth Wishart’s notes online against the mugshots she removed from the QVMAG to take to Port Arthur and returned to the TMAG).
Nevin at the Hobart Gaol for the Municipal Police Office Hobart, between 4th-24th January 1874. The majority of the prisoner photographs in these four picture frames bear a pencilled number on the front. These attitudes have evolved after lengthy consideration of the surviving photographs.” (p.x) Such an explicit admission of something that we all do is possibly refreshing, but it is also potentially problematic… His important argument that Adolarious Boyd, the superintendent at Port Arthur, was the photographer of the well-known portraits of Port Arthur convicts rather than Thomas Nevin is not found in the Boyd entry, but rather under “convict photographs”.
This photograph was originally held at the QVMAG, numbered “142” on recto and transcribed verso in 1915 for display at convictarian John Watt Beattie’s Port Arthur Museum, located in Hobart. Verso: Prisoner Henry CLABBY alias Cooper, 22 yrs old, and locally born (“native”) was photographed by Thomas J. Those numbers appear as missing prisoner photographs on the QVMAG lists of 1-300 convict cdvs which were originally archived at the QVMAG in Beattie’s collection. No “see also” reference is provided to that entry – rather one is given to Charles Woolley for whom one can see no obvious link.
On 4 September 1873 he was sentenced to 12 months for larceny, followed by a month in the cells at the Mayor’s Court, Hobart Municipal Police, Hobart Town Hall for disobeying orders on 4th January 1874, when he was photographed by Thomas J. Incarceration at the Hobart Gaol once more for larceny and assaulting a warden earned him a sentence of 12 months on 24th January 1874 with imprisonment at Port Arthur. The latter were photographed on discharge at the Hobart Supreme Court in Gaol Delivery sessions between 18 by T. Barnard Gov’t printer: Top right: Prisoner William Sewell per Siam, photographed by Nevin on discharge 24 January 1874 Top left: Prisoner George Charlton per Blundell photographed by Nevin on discharge 23 October 1873 Bottom right: Prisoner Stephen Kelly per Louisa photographed by Nevin on discharge 18 November 1874 Bottom left: Prisoner John Nestor per Hydrabad photographed by Nevin on discharge 9 December 1874 Centre: Civil servant A. He was simply NOT A PHOTOGRAPHER of Tasmanian prisoners or anything else. Boyd at centre was donated to the TMAG in 1978 by descendant Mr. Boyd, just a few months after the QVMAG held an exhibition of their Tasmanian prisoner cdvs in Thomas J. Each of these four prisoner photographs (and another 18 in three similar frames constructed by the TMAG for travelling exhibitions) originally belonged to the estate of convictaria collector John Watt Beattie which was acquired by the Queen Victoria Museum and Art Gallery, Launceston in 1930, but they were removed from the QVMAG for an exhibition held at Port Arthur in 1983 and never returned, deposited instead at the Tasmanian Museum and Art Gallery, Hobart. The “rumour” morphed into a photographer attribution of “convicts” by 1995 at the TMAG when their A-Z publication of Tasmanian Photographers 1840-1940 appeared, profferred as a belief by its author Chris Long despite the complete lack of evidence of any kind, or any extant validated works by A. The Photo Books from the 1870s apparently have not survived intact, perhaps because they were dismantled by Beattie for display and sale in the 1900s.
He was one of the young prisoners sent down to the Port Arthur prison, arriving there on 30th January 1874 against the wishes of the newly incumbent Commandant, Dr. This wily curatorial sleight of hand was their only means at creating the pretension. but the references to numbered photographs in separate photo books are to be found on prisoner’s record sheets, eg.